Page 1 of 1

Station 2?

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 11:45 am
by XDM9guy
I have a new Load master that that I will be loading 9mm, and eventually 45ACP. I do not have a universal decapper but I do have an extra expander and powder drop. If I left the resize/deprime in station 1 and put the powder drop, without the expander installed, in station 2 would I have enough support for the priming action?

Thanks
Craig

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:26 pm
by customcutter
I think most people use something in station 2 to help align the brass. The brass should actually be held by the shell plate without any additional support required. Just my .02. I'm sure you'll get other answers.

Welcome to the site.

CC

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 11:13 pm
by XDM9guy
I am concerned that the powder through die might be a little too loose to guarantee alignment for priming. I understand that the re sizer does such a good job of aligning the case because the fit is very tight.

Thanks
Craig

Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:20 pm
by XDM9guy
Just to answer my own question, and for anyone else that is curious, the powder drop in station 2 works very well. 150 rounds of 9mm with flawless priming.

Craig

Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 7:53 am
by darwin
You aren't actually charging the cases in station 2, are you?

It doesn't sound like you are, but I have to ask......

Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:53 am
by zuke
IF you have a primer go off oyu'll get quite the chain reaction explosion.
That's IF it goes off, and IF the flash make's it to the powder hopper.
I'd pre prime if you really want to do it that way.

Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:51 am
by XDM9guy
No, I'm not charging at station 2. In my original post I mentioned that I removed the expander die and I'm just using the powder through die to support the case for priming.

Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:37 pm
by darwin
I missed that in your original post..... My bad.

Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:31 pm
by XDM9guy
Darwin

No problem, after reading my post I see I was not all that clear. I would love to prime and charge on the same position like the Pro 1000, but until lee comes up with a new version or upgrade I will stick with prime on 2 and charge on 3.

Craig