Misalignment Issues with New Press

Questions and discussions and troubleshooting Lee Load Master presses

Moderator: darwin

dixonba

Misalignment Issues with New Press

Postby dixonba » Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:58 am

New to the forum (and reloading for that matter) and just got my brand new loadmaster press. Having some issues. This is going to be a long post. Bear with me. I'm a mechanical engineer by trade so I went a little wild with this.

Let me start off saying that this is a new loadmaster 9mm setup. The only difference I can see is the new priming tray and the indexing slide on the frame seems to be machined. I'll try to get some pictures up.

Upon first setup, I did as instructed everywhere and setup a universal decapper in station 1 and moved the resizing die to station 2 sans decapping pin. Setup flare and powder in station 3. Setup seat and crimp in station 4. Station 5 is empty until I decide if I want to buy the factory crimp die. Followed the directions on how to set the dies up and took some brass and started getting everything dialed in. This is where I ran into problems.

Station one decap was fine but when I indexed to station two, the casing gets hung up on the resizing die. Again, I'll try to get some pictures up but it's clearly and consistently out of alignment. Tried multiple pieces of sized and unsized brass. If I tip the case over with my finger, it will go in but it's clearly going to interfere with setting the primer since its tipping the case over. I did some research including searching this forum and found that its possibly a bad turret or a misaligned carrier and started troubleshooting.

Turret debug:
I took all the other dies out and started indexing the turret while keeping the resizing die in station two. Every turret hole is consistently out of alignment to the resizing die at station 2. Next, I decided to keep the resizing die in the same turret location but index to the different stations. Here's when things got weird.