Memoirs with the Lee Load-Master - Long term review.

Questions and discussions and troubleshooting Lee Load Master presses

Moderator: darwin

How was this write-up?

Helpful
96%
Not helpful
4%

Total votes: 28

burningsquirrels

Memoirs with the Lee Load-Master - Long term review.

Postby burningsquirrels » Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:48 pm

I have this posted elsewhere, and I decided to post it here. I first started reloading late summer of '08, and just recently updated it again with a long-term follow up. I hope this helps some folks out in terms of getting started and getting ideas for long-term production.

August 12th, 2008

> Disclaimer.

These are my thoughts on the subject. I'm no expert, but this is from a noob's standpoint and a summary of what ended up working out really well for me. As with any information over the internet, YMMV - your mileage may vary, and reload at your own risk!

> How I got my start reloading.

I got tangled up shooting USPSA at a weekly local match, and am now dragging to the weekend matches. Add to that the weekly pin and steel shoots and well, that's a lot of ammo!

> Assessing needs.

Because of a tight schedule I needed to reload rounds quickly for two calibers. I shoot 40s&w, and my fiance shoots 9x19mm. I would like to sit down once a week and load 300-400 rounds for each caliber in 2 or 3 hours. This mandated the use of a multi-station progressive press that would allow me to do everything on the press.

> Shopping selections.

After talking with a bunch of people who already reload, it seemed like the two most popular (amongst those in my area) were the Lee Precision machines and the Dillon machines. Both camps generally agreed that the Lee machines were more like good ol' pickup trucks while the Dillons were the high end luxury like pieces.