What is the real deal w/ the Lee Loadmaster ?

Questions and discussions and troubleshooting Lee Load Master presses

Moderator: darwin

RGMJ

What is the real deal w/ the Lee Loadmaster ?

Postby RGMJ » Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:11 am

Hi. I'm a newbie for progressives and I plan to get one in 38 super. I have been loading on a RCBS Turret Press for the last 5 years.

I'm not so mechanically inclined so I wanted something that works great out-of-the-box. I made some reseach, and man.. you ought to see product reviews in MidwayUSA about the Loadmaster. 80% of them are either angry or very, very angry. Most claim it to be a junk, lemon, garbage,worthless, refuse; what ever, short of writing invectives!!

On the other hand, other users say they love the machine and works so well.

Are these negative feedbacks realistic? Should I buy the Loadmaster? The negative buzz scares me. What progressive press would you suggest that won't need too much tinkering?

Any opinion will be highly appreciated.

rowe_s

Postby rowe_s » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:21 am

I don't think there is a progressive press of any manufacture on the face of the earth that doesn't require tinkering to make it run right.

Jumping Frog

Postby Jumping Frog » Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:58 pm

It is your first post, so WELCOME!

Well, there are definite Lee bashers out there, and we will never change their mind. I also think that people tried the Loadmaster years ago before there were so many videos out there on the internet and all kinds of reloading forums to offer advice and support. I think all of us would agree that the Loadmaster instructions aren't exactly going to win any Pulitzer prizes, so if you lived in the middle of nowhere without any other Loadmaster owners to talk with, then you could get frustrated and get a sour attitude that persists forever.