Spent primer catcher

For discussion, question and answers regarding Pro 1000 presses

Moderator: darwin

glock40sw

Spent primer catcher

Postby glock40sw » Thu Aug 28, 2008 7:39 am

G'day All.

I have been reloading 9mm and 40S&W for a few years on a P1K.

I have drilled a 25mm hole in my bench under the press to allow the spent primers to fall through into a tin can hooked under the bench.
My Dillon SDB has a clearplastic tube attached to the blue spent primer catcher thingy.

Has anyone got a similar thing for the P1K?
I'm just about to start reloading the 357 Sig on this press. The Lee sizer die is not carbide (why I do not know) So I'm going to use the Dillon Carbide sizer die.

I really wish Lee would bring out a 4 hole converion for the P1K so I can use the FCD in the press.

Thanks.
Hooroo.
Regards, Trevor.
Australia

Jumping Frog

Re: Spent primer catcher

Postby Jumping Frog » Thu Aug 28, 2008 8:15 pm

glock40sw wrote:I really wish Lee would bring out a 4 hole converion for the P1K so I can use the FCD in the press.

Welcome to the forum. Didn't know you were allowed to reload Down Under. I thought firearms were banned. Guess I am displaying my ignorance.

I suspect Lee doesn't want to cut into their Lee Loadmaster business.

darwin
Site Admin

Postby darwin » Thu Aug 28, 2008 11:10 pm

When I used a P1K I deprimed the brass (with a turret press if I remember correctly, but it'd be easy enough to do on the P1k). Then I primed with a handheld priming tool - pretty easy to do while watching TV or whatever.

Then I could use the three stations for powder drop, bullet seating and FCD.
Any chance you could get a Load Master down there?

I too though guns were outlawed down there. Tell us more about the situation down under.

glock40sw

Postby glock40sw » Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:04 am

G'day All.