Lee Pro 1000 as a turret press?

For discussion, question and answers regarding Pro 1000 presses

Moderator: darwin

User avatar
Hawkmoon
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:35 am

Lee Pro 1000 as a turret press?

Postby Hawkmoon » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:18 pm

I have a friend who is thinking about getting into reloading. His father has been a reloader for many years, but has always worked with a tried-and-true Rockchucker single stage press. My friend has three children, and does a lot of after-hours work to help make ends meet. I don't think he has time to load on a single stage.

I have a Pro 1000 that I'm not using at the moment. I was thinking of letting him use it while he gets his feet wet, and until he decides what he wants to buy for a press. He'll be loading mostly (if not exclusively) for rifle. I'm sure the Pro 1000 will handle that in progressive mode, but to get him started I wondered if it can be operated more like a turret press. Does anyone know?

Or would the work-around be to run it as a progressive but only use one slot on the shell holder, so only one cartridge is making the rounds at a time rather than having three operations all happening at the same time?

Thoughts welcome ...
Last edited by Hawkmoon on Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

motopic
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:59 pm

Postby motopic » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:51 pm

I recently got a Pro1000 after using a LM for a few years.

I like the Pro1000 better. I don't see how you do the 'turret' thing with it, turning with the dies, I think would hit the Zbar, but you could maybe take that out.?

I would do as you say, and run 1 brass at a time, until he got used to watching all the bits.

Pro1000 will only do 223 rifle, or 7.62x39. (or similar)

User avatar
Hawkmoon
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:35 am

Postby Hawkmoon » Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:33 pm

motopic wrote:Pro1000 will only do 223 rifle, or 7.62x39. (or similar)


No .308/7.62x51?

Why not? Risers too short?

dglock
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 8:15 pm

Postby dglock » Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:55 pm

Hawkmoon wrote:
motopic wrote:Pro1000 will only do 223 rifle, or 7.62x39. (or similar)


No .308/7.62x51?

Why not? Risers too short?


The frame of the press is to short to allow the cases to fit.

If you unscrew the dies enough to allow the cases to clear the dies, they will not process the cases.

don

User avatar
Hawkmoon
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:35 am

Postby Hawkmoon » Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:13 pm

Well, that's a bummer. That means I also can't use the Pro 1000 for 8mm Mauser, and that's what I had planned on using it for before and after letting my friend borrow it.


Return to “Pro 1000 discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest