Pro 1000 into a Turret Press???

For discussion, question and answers regarding Pro 1000 presses

Moderator: darwin

User avatar
azleadmelter
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:48 am

Pro 1000 into a Turret Press???

Postby azleadmelter » Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:47 pm

I own a Lee Pro 1000

I want to convert it to a turret press, by looking at the pics I see that the frame is the same.

Anybody here done that before?

Any thoughts?

Cost?

thanks for any and all info/opinions

User avatar
azleadmelter
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:48 am

Postby azleadmelter » Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:16 pm

I asked Lee, when I get a reply I will post it here.

User avatar
darwin
Site Admin
Posts: 1961
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:11 am
Location: Central Indiana

Postby darwin » Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:38 pm

I don't see any way that one could do it, but I might be wrong. Let us know what you find out. Turret presses are pretty cheap, so it may not be worth the effort.

I suppose you could run it like a turret press, though. Just load one case in and run it through the press before adding another case. You don't need to change the press anything on the press to do that.

User avatar
azleadmelter
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:48 am

Postby azleadmelter » Fri Sep 25, 2009 10:43 pm

Darwin,

You are probably correct.
A good thought though.

User avatar
azleadmelter
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:48 am

This is what I got from Lee

Postby azleadmelter » Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:42 pm

What do you think?

Pro 1000 to Turret Press

Parts needed to convert the Pro-1000 to the Turret press:

The parts list below is for converting to the Turret Press Only. If desired, it can easily be upgraded to the 4 hole auto indexing model for an additional $20.00. That kit is #90933.

• (1) TP2106 Columns $3.00 each

• (1) TP2131 Instructions $1.00

• (1) 90042 Turret press update kit $40.00
This will give you automatic primer feed for large and small primers.

Thank You
Lee Precision

User avatar
Jumping Frog
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:17 pm
Location: Texas!

Re: Pro 1000 into a Turret Press???

Postby Jumping Frog » Mon Sep 28, 2009 4:33 pm

azleadmelter wrote:I own a Lee Pro 1000

I want to convert it to a turret press, by looking at the pics I see that the frame is the same.

Now that you know you can, I have to ask, "Why?"

User avatar
azleadmelter
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:48 am

Postby azleadmelter » Mon Sep 28, 2009 6:13 pm

I do not like my Pro 1000 :cry: :cry:


I think a Turrett Press would be better, atleast until I can afford a Load Master.

I always like to "tinker" and this project sounded like fun.....

So if you had a Pro 1000, and you did not like it, would you go this route? Or would you try to sell it, and buy a Turrett Press?

User avatar
darwin
Site Admin
Posts: 1961
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:11 am
Location: Central Indiana

Postby darwin » Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:29 pm

I think it is a good idea. It'd be a turret, but better, with the priming system the P1K has. Okay, okay, I never thought I'd be BRAGGING about the priming system on the P1K. :?

I'm confused about Lee's email and the costs, though. At one point there are only a few cheap parts needed, a 4 hole auto indexing mod would be $20 more, but the kit is $40?

Would you need a 3 or 4 hole? IOW, do you use a factory crimp die?

Wouldn't you get the same result by running one case through at a time though? It's been a long time since I saw my P1k press.

Nate1778
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:42 am

Postby Nate1778 » Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:49 am

I contacted Lee about this before I got my Load Master, The response was yes it can be done, but for a few dollars more I could just buy a new unit. Everything including the ram needs to be changed.


Return to “Pro 1000 discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest