Page 1 of 1

Make The PPM Perfect

Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 3:46 pm
by daboone
Found this article very interesting for PPM users. "How To: Make the LEE "Perfect Powder Measure" Perfect" Much of it has been discussed but it a good read anyway.

http://jconninv.com/HowTo/howto.leePPM.shtml

.

Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:58 pm
by motopic
I am concerned that with the release of the $$$$ metal cast units, that Lee will discontinue the old, cheap PPM.

Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:13 pm
by daboone
motopic wrote:I am concerned that with the release of the $$$$ metal cast units, that Lee will discontinue the old, cheap PPM.


I hope not. By the way I prefer in this case "inexpensive". :lol: Because it really is one of the best measures out there for extruded/stick powders. That said I am on a waiting list for the new Classic PM. I just don't understand why anyone would want the inserts that will be offered later. :?:

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 11:50 pm
by Hawkmoon
Interesting.

When I use the PPM instead of the Pro Autodisk, I do exactly the opposite of what the article recommends, in pursuit of the same goal: consistent throws. When I lift the handle to the up (fill) position, I give the base of the handle (the part right next to the center screw) three gentle taps with the tip of my finger, to break up any small bridges. Then when I lower the handle to drop the powder, I give it another three gentle taps.

I'm satisfied with this as a procedure. I load with Winchester 231, and with the routine any charges I weigh don't vary by more than a tenth of a grain, and usually less than that.

Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:43 pm
by Froznone
Sorry, The link daboone provided is not correct.
the correct link is:
http://jconninv.com/HowTo/howto.leePPM.shtml

Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2015 9:17 pm
by daboone
Froznone wrote:Sorry, The link daboone provided is not correct.
the correct link is:
http://jconninv.com/HowTo/howto.leePPM.shtml


Thanks for finding and reporting this update. I just edited that entry/url to update it to .shtml.

Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:15 am
by Froznone
daboone, I notice that link is all over the place. No way to fix all the instances.

I solved the problem by by making the erroneous page redirect to the good one.

Not sure how that link even got out. The .htm files were part of a PHP page server script i was playing with. They were never supposed to be available.