Lee bullet feeder on Loadmaster question

Questions and discussions and troubleshooting Lee Load Master presses

Moderator: darwin

thumbs

Lee bullet feeder on Loadmaster question

Postby thumbs » Fri Jun 03, 2016 9:01 pm

I am new to both the forum and the Loadmaster. Been loading for years with my Classic Turret Press but am shooting a bit more now and need to sep up the loading process a bit. It took a little bit of time to learn how the press wants to be used but she seems to be running pretty well. The occasional primer miss but not to often. I check to see that a primer drops each time and there is powdering the case before putting on the bullet which brings me to the question and or problem.

I just got the press about a week ago and probably have about 600 9mm rounds loaded from her. I bought it with the bullet feeder and also got the four tube bullet "magazine". I had to make a new arm that moves the fingers of the bullet feeder back and forth because on of the 90* bends left the length to short and it kept popping out of the hole. Anyway got it working pretty well but now the bullets will not drop from the single tube "magazine". I cleaned the unit and checked from burrs but they still don't drop. Seems the 124grain 9mm rn bullets cock just enough to jam in the bottom of the "magazine". If I put my finger up in there and straighten out the bullet it will drop but the next one has the same problem. Has anyone else had this problem and if so is there a fix for it?

Actually, other than the money spent for the bullet feeder and the larger "magazine" placing the bullet by hand on the brass really isn't that bad. Not sure I really want to load any faster it would just be a little more convenient.

thanks for the help

Chickenthief

Postby Chickenthief » Sat Jun 04, 2016 3:30 am

Are you using the inserts?
For the smaller diameter bullets Lee provides some extra clear tubes that slide into the standard ones and that took care of my 9mm problems.

piratepast40